I have a bike, now I need a licence…

Well, I now own a bike again for the first time in several years – I completed the paperwork and paid this nice gentlemen at CustomShop Granada (https://www.facebook.com/predicadores.granada ) and he has agreed to keep this Suzuki 250 Marauder for me as long as necessary until I get my licence problem sorted.

himbike

Nice man at CustomShop Granada

Because, as noted in the previous post, although I now own a bike, I am suddenly no longer a qualified motorcyclist as the Spanish licencing authorities managed to forget my motorcycle entitlement when they issued my new Spanish driving licence. I passed my motorcycle test in the UK in 1980 and I have been both an instructor and a DOT examiner as well as writing for several motorcycle magazines and websites, but as far as the Spanish authorities are concerned, my driving record is entirely motorcycle free. I’m hoping that it’s simply a mistake and that it will be easy and quick to fix, but I’m not holding my breath…

mebike

OK, so I can’t ride it yet, but just standing beside it makes me smile…

While my Gestor looks into the licence problem, I have been hanging out on ebay looking for riding gear. It’s been a long time since I bought anything on ebay, but I’m happy to note that the same rules seem to apply – auctions that end in the evening or at the weekend often get good prices. Stuff that ends during the working week and between nine and five tends to go cheap. Say hello to what looks like a jolly spiffy armoured leather motorcycle jacket for me for £11 and one for my wife for just £9!

Of course, when they turn up here in Spain, they may turn out to be hopeless, but at least scouring ebay is fun and it keeps me from thinking about my current lack of a motorcycle licence. Because the sun is out, the weather is good, I have tickets for two for the Jerez MotoGP at the beginning of May and I so want to get back out on the road on two wheels!

Leave a comment